Showing posts with label Mansard. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Mansard. Show all posts

Wednesday, June 19, 2013

INSIDE BALFOUR HOUSE

BALFOUR HOUSE CIRCA 1880

  

Known in Hamilton as the historic Balfour House, this three-storey detached Victorian home was built in 1880 and designed by local architect James Balfour. Heritage designated, the home is one of Hamilton’s finest examples of a Second Empire architecture.

What is Second Empire architecture? This is an architectural style that originally flourished during the period of the "Second Empire" in France (1852-1870), when Napoleon's nephew, Napoleon III, ruled.  During this time, Napoleon III hired urban planner Georges E. Haussman to redesign Paris, and along the newly created grand boulevards, buildings in Second Empire style were built.  The style had the goal of impressing the visitor with a feeling of grandeur and class, and buildings are most easily recognized by their mansard roofs (named after François Mansart who first helped popularize the design in the 16th century).  The mansard roof allows for maximum use of interior attic space, offers a simple way of adding an extra storey or two to an existing building without adding any new masonry, and their curved or convex nature allows for additional decorative functions such as iron trimmed roof cresting and elaborate dormer windows. The Second Empire style became popular outside of France.  In Canada, where its popularity peaked in the 1870s, there were variations of this style, including the use of central towers - which had a more Italianate influence - which acted as another focal point to draw the eyes to other decorations on the building.










































Photo Credits: Tom Vogel, Vogel Creative

FROM THE ARCHIVES


The home's second owners in the early 1900s (The Waugh family) on the front stairs where there previously stood a Victorian porch. The Waughs were wealthy merchants and purchased the property of the original owners, The Rutherfords, in the 1890s.

Side of the house (north side of Herkimer St) early 1900s before the side entrance was added in 1936 by long-term resident Dr. John F. Houston. Woman featured is possibly Imogene L. Waugh, named on the 1898 mortgage papers. The Waugh family, wealthy merchants, were the second owners of the property after purchasing off the Rutherford family in the 1890s. they sold to Dr. Houston in the 1930s who in turn owned the property until his death in the 1970s. Only 3 other families have lived in the house since then, including the current.

Hamilton Spectator archives 1967. Classic Regency townhouse. The exterior plan of 250 James Street South includes a balanced facade of arched windows, a neat George IV doorway with a split fanlight, an elegant mansard roof with a perfectly proportioned doormer, and the decorative contrasting brick detail of the period.
The home features 4 marble fireplaces. One of the original two Jacques and Hay 1880 mantle mirrors still remains in place.

3rd owner of the property, prominent local doctor, John F Houston. As a young private in the First World War, Dr. Houston bought his first small piece Georgian silver and became one of the finest collectors in Hamilton.

The original deed of land from April 28 1880. The home was built in the 1870s and was sold to Catherine S. Rutherford.










As featured in The Hamilton Spectator in 2004 when added to the Doors Open Hamilton Tour

VIEW RELATED LINKS: